The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn at Inn at Bretforton, Nr Evesham, was built in the 14th century as a farmhouse and was first opened as a public house in 1848. The Grade 11 listed half-timbered building is steeped in history and was bequeathed by Lola Taplin to the National Trust in 1977. The Fleece had remained largely undisturbed in its architecture and atmosphere since the mid 17th Century until a devastating fire broke out in a thatched part of the roof on 27 February 2004. This fire destroyed the roof structure and substantial damage was caused to internal areas by both fire and water.
Croft Building and Conservation Ltd was appointed as the specialist contractor for the careful repair of The Fleece, to restore the building to it's condition prior to the fire, retaining as much of the original fabric as possible and reinstating the historic furniture and fittings.
Croft's remedial works included specialist carpentry and joinery works to repair and preserve much of the original timber frame and roof trusses, supplementing with new timbers fixed using traditional techniques. The completed roof was covered with both Cotswold Stone slating and new thatched roofing. Croft repaired and part rebuilt wall infill panels, overhauled and repaired the traditional leaded light windows and oak doors, and installed new matching oak framed windows and oak boarded doors and frames.
Internal finishings included the construction of traditional oak partitions and fitting oak joinery, traditional haired lime plaster and lath and plaster finishings
The project incorporated minor changes to the layout, a full M&E package, decorations and floor finishes including the provision of commercial kitchens and washroom facilities in addition to the complete refurbishment and improvements to the domestic living quarters.
Working in conjunction with the National Trust, Croft encouraged the public to experience the restoration process by holding a range of events to help local people learn about the range of specialised skills and techniques used in the rebuilding of the historic timber-framed structure.